TRAVEL: Baby it’s cold inside….

So it seems I’ve gotten very bad at writing….the last number of weeks have been hectic to say the least BUT I wanted to make time to write about our FIRST December in the sun!!! We are pretty much a couple of days short of being 6 months down under too and it has been one heck of a ride to say the least!!In general December is probably my favourite month in the year and I suppose when it goes hand in hand with sun, that’s a pretty good combination!! (for me!) I experienced my first ever ‘Summer’ birthday too – this was one of the strangest experiences ever!! I’ve probably experienced every other weather condition bar sunshine and heat and I have to admit, I bloody loved it!!


As Christmas drew nearer things were touch and go to be honest, in every sense of the word, emotions were running high and low and everything in between – I was excited for Christmas, as always, but this time I was so excited to be going to spend Christmas at the beach!! Normally December at home is cold, wet, windy, frosty, snowy, crisp, fresh and all in between. The days are at their shortest too, the mornings are dark, the evenings are dark, and it’s all about central heating, blankets, cups of tea and keeping warm! My most recent experience of December was so polar opposite I think it may have even hurt my eyes a bit!!:)


December in Australia has been warm, hot, HOTTER, bright, breezy, keeping cool, iced coffees, sunny beaches, crystal clear water, white sand, rooftop pools listening to Rod Stewart singing ‘Let it Snow’ while sun bathing and air con – and I have actually loved every bit of it!

Of course there is a downside to being the other side of the globe at a time where I spend more time with my family than at any other time of the year – and enjoy their company too!! In part we have been lucky because we’ve got a little bit of family here and that has been a comfort, but it’s not the same, of course!! There have been times, leading up to Christmas, that I have felt a massive loss being here with just us two. I’ve missed getting excited about Santy with my little (bigger – she’s towering above me) sister, I’ve missed the magic that I somehow manage to still create for her at 14 and for my own inner 7 year old self. I’ve missed the madness of Christmas shopping and buying everyone gifts, I’ve missed GIVING them gifts and visiting people, catching up with my Mam’s tasty Baileys coffees, celebrations, Christmas drinks, my Dad’s MULLED WINE and an endless supply of Christmas pudding, mince pies, AND our beautiful Christmas tree and decorating the house!! BUT you know what, I wouldn’t change a thing… We have a mini version of our Christmas tree at home and that did just fine, not sure I could have managed with no tree at all – that would have been complete insanity!!


I’ve had 26 typical Christmases and this Christmas has been a once in a lifetime experience for us, we spent the day ON the beach, a beach that was straight out of Trailfinder’s latest brochure!! We ate cheese, we drank beer on the beach, we had chocolate from home and most of all, we had each other and I couldn’t ask for more than that!!


The hotel we stayed at was The Wyndham Resort & Spa and it had a sandy path leading out onto Geographe Bay. It was EXACTLY what we wanted. The resort was beautiful, our room was lovely, it had everything we needed. The highlight was definitely the beach though – it was full of white sand, crystal clear water, not a wave in sight, a very little breeze (in comparison to most beaches we’ve been to) and very few people – we pretty much had the beach to ourselves for the whole day!! It was pure paradise, photos will never capture the raw beauty of this place and what we experienced.


So basically my point of this post is this – if you’re thinking about being away for Christmas but think it would be too hard, don’t think like that, just DO IT!!! Be logical about deciding what you want to do, make sure it’s what you really want because I can’t imagine being away from home for Christmas if I wasn’t doing something I REALLY wanted to do!! Was it hard to be away at Christmas – to an extent, yes, but was it worth it? ABSOFRICKINGLUTELY!!!! Would I do it again? In a heartbeat!!!


I will never in my life EVER forget Christmas in Dunsborough, WA!!

Leave a Reply

