HEALTH: Nothing compares to you…..

I’ve been trying to organise my thoughts and my mind now for the last 3/4 weeks and I’m not sure I’m getting too far. Usually I am on the ball for a new year. I am extremely cliché, in that, I really do love when a new year pops up. I love that sense of a clean sheet, a fresh start, a whole new year, a whole new chapter!! I don’t give in to the whole, ‘New Year, new me’ stuff because I reckon I’m an alright person and if I just continue to try to improve on that, I’ll do ok! I love to set realistic goals and plans, along with some unrealistic ones too of course!! 

Over the last few years I’ve given each year a theme…. I feel that if I have an overall theme then I don’t lose focus or feel disappointed at the end of the year (I’m my own worst critic). When I’ve set resolutions in the past I forget what they are half way through and then the 31st of December comes and I’m like, ‘Shit! What was I at this past year!!??’ So I think that having a theme can help to keep going, keep you alert and focused on what you want to achieve and reminds you not to lose that sense of direction! 

So, 2016 was the year of taking chances and making changes and I think it’s safe to say that even though I didn’t accomplish all my goals, overall I took some massive chances and made even bigger changes!! I’ve learned that, for me, it’s so important to keep making changes in some way, shape or form because as it turns out, I get ridiculously bored very quickly… 

2017, I’ve decided, is going to be the year I make decisions!! For those of you who know me, know I’m an absolute catastrophe when it comes to making decisions and I reckon if I can become more decisive I will be a happier version of myself!:) 
2017 marks the 10th year I’ve been out of school and I STILL don’t know what I want to be when I grow up… I’ve tried my hand at teaching, law, banking, insurance…. and yet here I am, still without a notion… all because 17 year old me was too afraid to MAKE A DECISION just in case it wasn’t what I wanted???? How I wish I could change that!! I look around at my peers and some of whom I absolutely envy because they know EXACTLY where they’re going and me, I’m still stuck in limbo! BUT, now is when that stops!!! Part of my problem is exactly that, I compare myself to everyone else. I reckon most of us are probably guilty of this, we look around and compare ourselves to what our friends are doing or what people our age are doing… why? We’re all different with different paths and in the end we’ll all get to where we’re going… eventually…..

One of my best friends sent me the pic above during the week and it really managed to hit home that I am such a bitch to myself at times!!! Time to stop!!

So who cares if Sally is making €70k a year or if Harry is still where he was 10 years ago making €20k and you’re slap bang in the middle of these… Everyone is exactly where they should be and if you’re in a spot where you’re feeling you’re not where you need to be then get up and do whatever you can to change it!! I can tell you now that the person you envy did not get to where they are by sitting on their backside!! I reckon we need to stop comparing ourselves to everyone else, compare yourself to the person you were this time last year? We’ve all got different paths with different twists and turns to get through so don’t punish yourself if you get a mountain that’s harder to climb than normal!! Remember you’re you!! There’s nobody in the world quite like you, you’re stronger than you give yourself credit for and you’ll climb that mountain and get through the storm that beats you on the way too!! Time can be our best friend and worst enemy all at the same time! Time is a healer but seeing that at a time where you just want the present to be the past is not easy!! You’ve got to try and remember that there’s always a light at the end of the hard times, don’t lose sight of that!! 


January can be like the month of limbo I think. People are kickstarting diets, making changes, new year new me… Me, I’m a little bit like a disorientated puppy right now, not much of a clue what’s going on to be honest!! So for me, 2017 decisions are starting a little late but better late than never…. I reckon if we just remember, ‘DON’T give up!!’

So basically, amidst all my mumble, if you’re at a point in life where you’re finding it hard, do something about it! Whether that means talking to someone, asking for some help or advice or if it’s simply giving yourself a good talking to, just do it!! You’ve literally got this ONE life and you’re in control of how it pans out, you can’t control the obstacles you get thrown but you can control how deal with them! Nobody can take that power away from you!!! So right now give yourself a pat on the back for all that you have achieved in life and give yourself a goal for this year, week or month; whether it’s to go to bed earlier, put your phone down more, go for a walk once a day, once a week, whatever you need for you, DO IT!!!

I love to keep my social media full of positive influences too so that I feel inspired rather than deflated. There’s nothing worse than feeling crap after being on Facebook or being bored watching your snapchat stories. Maybe do a social media clearout to kickstart the new year – make sure the people you keep up with are giving inspiration and not making you feel bad!😊 

So to end my ramble; Don’t get lost in the caves of comparison, pave your own way, lead by your own example! If you made a promise to your best friend wouldn’t you follow through with it? So why treat yourself any different? Surely you deserve to give yourself the same respect??
Thanks for staying awake and reading! Hope you enjoyed!😊

-J x

Leave a Reply

