SKIN SERIES: Vitamin C

Next in our mini skin series is Vitamin C.

So what good is vitamin C? Well, we all know how incredibly supportive it is to our immune system, and well, it’s not much different when it comes to the job C does for our skin.

Vitamin C is VITAL for the formation of collagen!!

So, what does this mean for your skin?

  •  Vitamin C is anti-aging which means it keeps our skin looking young, radiant and plump!! It keeps it glowing as well.
  • Collagen also helps to repair damaged skin cells too. So just like helping our immune system, it also helps to heal our skin that has been damaged, whether that is from UV rays (pigmentation) or simply a cut – it’s the healing vitamin together with Vitamin E they have unstoppable healing potential.
  • Vitamin C is an antioxidant – this means that it slows down (and may prevent) the rate of free radical damage. Free radicals are basically caused by a number of factors including, fried food, alcohol, air pollution, smoking etc. Free radicals cause damage to cells and the collagen (protein) in them which causes dryness, fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Vitamin C is anti-inflammatory and so can be very good for anyone with Rosacea.

Who can use it?

EVERYBODY!!! Vitamin C is a great vitamin and in my personal experience with it I have to say it leaves my skin feeling hydrated and cared for. Again, as I mentioned in the Vitamin A post, my skin is quite temperamental at times and I have to be careful about what I put onto it. I can, hand on heart, say that using a Vitamin C mask in my skincare routine has been a great addition for me. HOWEVER, in saying that, it can irritate sensitive skin and everyone is different so it would be better for you to do a patch test if you’re unsure.

How long before I see results?

Personally I feel like you see immediate results but having been using the Image Vital C mask for the past month I can tell you I see and feel my skin so much more hydrated after I use the mask. They have lots of vitamin C based products if you want to have a look here.


How can I get Vitamin C?

You can get serums and masks with a high concentration suited to your skin in most pharmacies. I really do believe a consultation is key so that you can get a good reading of what your skin really and truly needs. If you were to always self diagnose your physical health and never go to a doctor how would your body fair out? They are the trained experts and will be the perfect guides for you to get on your journey to skin that feels and looks amazing.

BUT as always, feeding the skin from the inside out is essential. Below are some of the best foods where you’ll find Vitamin C.

 

And that’s it for Vitamin C, I hope you found it useful and informative. Let me know! 🙂

 

Thanks for reading,

J x

Leave a Reply

